Caitlyn's Amazingly Awesome Blog:) <3

A blog for amazingly awesome people like me!!!!!!

Challenge Week 5: A Memory

on April 7, 2014

My Childhood Blanket

When I was a kid, my favorite object I owned was my blanket. It’s name was Pink Blankie, or just Blankie for short. I got the blanket when I was in Pre-school from my teacher, and I carried it around the house everywhere. I didn’t take it outside though, because I didn’t want to get it dirty. If it got a stain on it, I probably would’ve died. My blanket was pale pink with a white lace border. It was square shaped and about 2 1/2 feet long each way.

At night, I couldn’t sleep without it. While I carried Pink Blankie, I felt happy, but most of all, I felt safe. I felt safe because as a kid I thought monsters were real and that they lived under my bed, but they couldn’t get to me if I had my blanket. My blanket comforted me. My blanket was the best companion, always protecting me and keeping me warm. I loved it so much. Having that blanket was like having an angel, my guardian angel, following me around everywhere and keeping me safe. Without it I would feel empty.

One time I left her at a friends house, and I cried for the whole night until my sister brought me a pink unicorn, which I had to pretend was my blanket. When I finally got it back I was so happy, because I felt safe again. When I finally realized monsters weren’t real and I had nothing to be afraid of, I gave it. I still have it though, for memories, to remind me of when I was a kid and when I believed in monsters and when I needed a blanket to keep me safe.


8 Responses to “Challenge Week 5: A Memory”

  1. kateam2 says:

    When I was younger I had a baby blanket with the alphabet on it. I still have it today!
    http://kateam2.edublogs.org/

  2. Kaitlyn V says:

    When I was little I also had a blanket that I carried around with me, and could not sleep without. My blanket had the Disney Princess on it. I love how much detail you added into your post. It makes the post interesting to read.
    My blog’s website is kaitlynv110gst.edublogs.org

  3. francescaz715 says:

    This is so adorable! I had numerous “blankies” but my first was a small, knit, cream colored one with spring flowers knitted into it. I got more attached to stuffed animals though, I had tons of stuffed kitties and each one had a special name and talent.

  4. Mrs. Emerick says:

    Keep up with the challenges- I liked your memory. You should try to add pictures or videos to your blog! I will be checking back in!

  5. Gracen says:

    What a great entry! It is so funny because I too would always cover up with my blanket so monsters wouldn’t get me. But, Duh! Monsters can totally attack you with or without a blanket on… That’s just a proven fact. 🙂

  6. Sophie says:

    I had a childhood blanket too! This was built very well and I loved reading it! I love your closing paragraph!

  7. Lillian says:

    Hi Caitlyn,
    Your post is so detailed, I can feel how you felt when you forgot your blanket. I also have 2 blankets called Yoshi and Purple. I got them when I was just born. I never took my blankets out either.

  8. citlalyq7 says:

    I really liked your blog post. You were open and very vivid on how you felt about your blanket. You described every detail and made me feel like I was back in my childhood. Do you have another childhood memory toy or object? Well done!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar